AIA Kansas City recognizes architecture firms, projects and employees | KCUR 89.3

AIA Kansas City recognizes architecture firms, projects and employees | KCUR 89.3


AIA Kansas City, the local chapter of the American Institute of Architects, awards annual awards for “Outstanding Contributions to Our Profession, Community and the Built Environment”.

The awards were announced Tuesday evening at the annual AIA KC holiday celebration with approximately 200 members in attendance.

Helix Architecture + Design received the AIA KC Award as Firm of the Year. President Dale Duncan recognized the architecture and interior design firm for its recent national and local awards, as well as leadership on projects such as the Kansas City Police Department’s Leon Mercer Jordan East Patrol campus at 2640 Prospect Avenue, which opened in December 2015.

“We just felt obliged to do more than just do a good project,” said Reeves Wiedeman, founding director of Helix, East Patrol Station in the east of the city. The project was controversial, in part because of the land requirement – nearly 130 parcels were acquired and 60 residents were relocated. The company gathered more than 20 consultants, Wiedeman said, with a focus on minority and women’s businesses, to work with the design team.

“It was like building the city together with a large group of people,” said Wiedeman. “When you think about it, it really goes beyond an architectural project.”

Wiedeman called the company of the year recognition “a surprise for everyone”.

He added, “And it surprises you because you kind of look back and say, Wow, I think some of the things that we are very proud of and some of the things that we naturally do to try to be good business, and good architects and good civic leaders are perceived. And so it was. ”

AIA KC board members initiated the awards in 2005. They accept nominations from members, board members and employees. The entire board of directors will decide on the award winners by mutual agreement:

  • Architect of the Year: Eric Bosch, Kansas City, Missouri City Architect, AIA
  • Member company of the year: Helix Architecture + Design
  • Emerging Professional of the Year: Shahad Sadeq, Assoc. AIA
  • Chapter Volunteer of the Year: Women in Design Co-Chairs (Molly Simmons, AIA and Ellen Foster, AIA)
  • Architecture Attorney of the Year: Tim de Noble, AIA from Kansas State University
  • Monument Conservator of the Year: Historic Kansas City Foundation
  • Community Volunteer of the Year: Mike Fahey, Assoc. AIA
  • Community Impact of the Year: KC Streetcar Team (City of KC, KCATA, et al.)
  • Instructor of the year: Dr. Mandi Sonnenberg from Rockhurst University with the STEAM Studio at Gould Evans
  • President’s Award: Chief Darryl Forté of the Kansas City Missouri Police Department

Laura Spencer is a cultural reporter at KCUR 89.3. You can reach her on Twitter @lauraspencer.

Source link